web statistic
Cricket News

Cricket West Indies nominate a 15-man squad for the upcoming ODI series against Australia

Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced a 15-man squad for their upcoming ODI series against Australia on Wednesday. Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer and Roston Chase were recalled after being deemed perfectly suitable for the 50-turn format.

Apart from these three players, the group has most of the same faces who played against Sri Lanka earlier this year.

The chairman of selectors Roger Harper talked about the Men in Maroon giving the momentum to their series triumphs against The Lions.

‘This group will achieve an extensive series victory against Sri Lanka, which will increase their confidence in what is expected to be a tougher match against Australia. The return of Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase and Sheldon Cottrell gives greater depth and experience to the group, “ Harper said according to a press release.

‘Hopefully, playing in familiar home conditions will bring out the best in every player, enabling the team to perform at a consistently high standard. This CG Insurance ODI series against Australia is part of the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifying process where every game and every point counts, therefore it is very important, ” he added.

The ODI series between the West Indies and Australia starts on Tuesday 20 July. The Kensington Oval in Barbados will be the venue for all three night games.

West Indian Group for ODIs in Australia:

Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope (vc), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Anderson Philip, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd .

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your Adblocker to continue our site.