web statistic
Cricket News

England vs Sri Lanka 2021, 2nd ODI: Preview – pitch report, play combination and record from head to head

On Thursday (01 July), England will take on Sri Lanka in the 2nd One-Day International (ODI) of a three-match series at The Oval in London.

The Eoin Morgan-led side is already 1-0 up after winning by five wickets in the series opener. England would hope for a victory in the second ODI to clinch the series.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka will look forward to bouncing back and overpowering the hosts in the second match to keep the series alive.

Pitch Report:

The surface of the Kia Oval is very good at batting, and teams that chase the total tend to achieve success. In the last eight Day-Night games at The Oval, seven have been won by the side that batted second.

Head to Head record:

Matches Played: 76 | England won: 37 | Sri Lanka Won: 36 | Tied up: 1 | No result: 2

Play combination:


Although England do not want to be ideal to change the winning combination and will keep the same game XI for this match, but if the upcoming matches against some top teams are taken into account, Morgan and Co. give speedster some rest Mark Wood. In Wood’s place, the team management could step down Tom Curran.

Dawid Malan he left the group before the first match for personal reasons, and he is not expected to rejoin the kit, at least for the rest of the series. Liam Livingstone, which in turn with Jonny Bairstow in the first game, can get another game. But if Jason Roy is fit again, then he replaces Livingstone.

ENG XI: Eoin Morgan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone / Jason Roy, Joe Root, Sam Billings (wk), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Mark Wood / Tom Curran.

Sri Lanka:

Sri Lanka’s options are limited as three players have been sent home for violating the COVID-19 protocols. The only change that seems possible in light of the current group is Isurua Udana, which could replace Ramesh Mendis.

SL XI: Kusal Perera (c / wk), Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Garlic Shanaka, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, and Praveen Jayawickrama, Ramesh Mendis / Isuru Udana.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button