web statistic
Soccer News

Gold Cup 2021: Why does Qatar play in North American tournament?

Here’s what you need to know about why the AFC team and the World Cup host will play in this summer’s Gold Cup tournament in 2022

Despite not being a member of the North American Football Confederation, Qatar is a participating team in the edition of the Gold Cup for the first time in the tournament’s history as a ‘guest team’.

Sixteen teams are involved in the competition – with Qatar the only non-Concacaf team included.

So why is Qatar playing in the Gold Cup this summer? Purpose peek.

Why does Qatar play in the 2021 Gold Cup?

The decision to involve Qatar in the tournament stems from a relationship between Concacaf and the Qatar Football Association.

They are one of the 13 teams currently securing a place in the group of 16 teams.

Concacaf said in a statement: “Concacaf and AFC have a long standing relationship which has led to various joint initiatives that have contributed to the strong development of football in both regions, including an exchange of referees in which AFC referees compete in the 2019 Gold Cup and Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League 2018, while Concacaf referees oversaw matches in both the AFC Champions League and the Asian Cup in 2018. ‘

They also added that Qatar had been invited as a way to develop the grassroots level: Another facet of the relationship between Concacaf and the Qatari Football Association (QFA), together with the Supreme Committee for Delivery and Legacy (SC), is an initiative to grow wildlife at the grassroots level in North America, Central America and the Caribbean. ‘

Qatar has also been invited to take part in the 2023 Gold Cup.

Previously, South Korea was invited as the Gold Cup AFC guest in 2000 and 2002 before their joint hosting of the World Cup.

This is Qatar’s first involvement in the Gold Cup, but not their first involvement as a guest in a foreign competition. while they – along with Japan – were invited to play the Copa America in 2019 to fill the gaps in the tournament.

As there are only ten national teams in South America – Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela – CONMEBOL had to invite teams from another federation to compete in a 12-team competition. to thing.

However, this is not the case for Qatar’s involvement in the 2021 Gold Cup.

Complete list of 2021 Gold Cup teams

Team Group
Mexico Group A
El Salvador πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡» Group A
Curacao πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ό Group A
Trinidad and Tobago πŸ‡ΉπŸ‡Ή Group A
United States πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ Group B
Canada Group B
Martinique πŸ‡²πŸ‡Ά Group B
Haiti Group B
Costa Rica Group C
Jamaica πŸ‡―πŸ‡² Group C
Suriname πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡· Group C
Guadeloupe πŸ‡¬πŸ‡΅ Group C
Honduras πŸ‡­πŸ‡³ Group D
Panama πŸ‡΅πŸ‡¦ Group D
Grenada πŸ‡¬πŸ‡© Group D
Qatar πŸ‡ΆπŸ‡¦ Group D

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button