web statistic
Soccer News

Carlo Ancelotti to Zinedine Zidane – Which drivers have won the most Champions League titles?

Zinedine Zidane is the only manager to have won three consecutive Champions League titles …

The UEFA Champions League is considered the most coveted trophy in European football contested by the top clubs on the continent.

The Champions League in its current form and name started in 1992. Before that it was known as the European Cup which was introduced in 1955. Real Madrid is the most successful club in the history of the Champions League with a record of 13 titles to their name.

Los Merengues is followed by Serie A giants AC Milan who have won seven titles, followed by Bayern Munich and Liverpool who have six titles. The current reigning champions of the competition are Chelsea, who beat Manchester City 1-0 in the final of last season’s competition.

Only three drivers in the history of the competition have won the title three times. Legendary Liverpool manager Bob Paisely led the Reds to three Champions League victories in 1977, 1978 and 1981.

Italian manager Carlo Ancelotti won two Champions League titles with AC Milan in 2003 and 2007 and a third in 2014 with Real Madrid. Zinedine Zidane, the former assistant to Ancelotti at Real Madrid, is the only manager in the history of the competition to have won three titles in a row from 2016 to 2018 with Real Madrid.

Zinedine Zidane GFX of Real Madrid Champions League

Apart from Ancelotti and Zidane, Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola and AS Roma’s Jose Mourinho are the only two active drivers to have won the Champions League title more than once. While Guardiola led Barcelona to victory in 2009 and 2011, Mourinho won it with FC Porto (2004) and Inter Milan (2010).

Here we look at all the drivers who have won the Champions League title more than once.

Which drivers have the most Champions League titles?

Manager Titles Years Clubs
Bob Paisley 3 1977, 1978, 1981 Liverpool
Carlo Ancelotti 3 2003, 2007, 2014 AC Milan, Real Madrid
Zinedine Zidane 3 2016, 2017, 2018 Real Madrid
Jose Villalonga 2 1956, 1957 Real Madrid
Luis Carniglia 2 1958, 1959 Real Madrid
Bella Guttmann 2 1961, 1962 Benfica
Helenio Herrera 2 1964, 1965 Inter Milan
Miguel Munoz 2 1960, 1966 Real Madrid
Nereo Rocco 2 1963, 1969 AC Milan
Stefan Kovacs 2 1972, 1973 Ajax
Dettmar Cramer 2 1975, 1976 Bayern munich
Brian Clough 2 1979, 1980 Nottingham forest
Ernst Happel 2 1970, 1983 Feyenoord, Hamburger SV
Arrigo Sacchi 2 1989, 1990 AC Milan
Ottmar Hitzfeld 2 1997, 2001 Borussia Dortmund, Bayern Munich
Vicente del Bosque 2 2000, 2002 Real Madrid
Sir Alex Ferguson 2 1998, 2008 Manchester United
Jose Mourinho 2 2004, 2010 FC Porto, Inter Milan
Pep Guardiola 2 2009, 2011 FC Barcelona
Jupp Heynckes 2 1998, 2013 Real Madrid, Bayern Munich

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button