web statistic
Soccer News

Cecafa Kagame Cup: Gor Mahia does not want to confirm participation yet, but Simba SC does not choose

Next month’s regional tournament may not include some of the heavyweights in the area

Gor Mahia in Kenya have yet to confirm whether they will take part in the Cecafa Kagame Cup 2021 hosted in Dar es Salaam.

Cecafa has confirmed that the regional tournament will be held between 1 and 15 August and Simba, the champion in the Premier League of Tanzania, will not participate.

The host country is represented by Yanga SC and Azam FC, who finished the 2020/21 season in second and third place respectively.

While Yanga will be participating in the Caf Champions League, Azam will represent Tanzania in the Confederation Cup, and the Cecafa Cup will provide them with a platform to test themselves against other local clubs.

Tusker, the Champions League representatives in Kenya, have confirmed that they will be part of the August competition in the coastal city, while the Ugandan Premier League champions Express FC and the reigning champions, Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA FC), will represent Uganda .

Malawi Premier League champions Nyasa Big Bullets have also confirmed their participation as a guest team.

Although Ethiopia, Djibouti, Eritrea, Sudan and Somalia are members of the Cecafa fraternity, none of the teams from these countries have indicated whether they are likely to be part of the tournament.

What was said

Cecafa executive director Auka Gecheo said the competition (the draw of which will be held on July 27) is aimed at helping participants prepare for Caf competitions.

“This tournament will help our teams in the region prepare for the Caf competitions starting in September. We will also have a host team from Malawi to enrich the tournament,” says the director.

KCCA defeated Azam to lift the Kagame Cup in 2019 in Rwanda. Last year, the tournament did not take place after the Covid-19 pandemic affected most sports activities, including football, around the world.

KCCA FC players.

The club competition begins just after the Cecafa U23 competition – which continues in the northern city of Ethiopia, Bahir Dar – ends.

Teams that have confirmed their participation in the 2021 Cecafa Kagame Cup are Young Africans SC, Azam FC (Tanzania), Atlabara FC (South Sudan), Le Messager Ngozi FC (Burundi), APR (Rwanda), Express FC, KCCA FC (Uganda ), Tusker FC (Kenya), KMKM SC (Zanzibar), Big Bullets FC (Malawi).

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button