web statistic
Cricket News

Cricket Australia names 15 for T20 World Cup 2021

Cricket Australia (CA) has named a star team for the Aussies T20 World Cup 2021 campaign, with captain Aaron Finch, opener David warner and former Captain Steve Smith among the big names returning to action.

Nine players, who recently competed against the West Indies and Bangladesh, were not retained. Paaltjiewagter-batsman Alex Carey and fast bowlers Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye is one of the notable omissions.

Chief Appraiser George Bailey said Carey’s omission was “based solely on performance”, and he believes the South Australian still has a long future, at least in one-day cricket.

“We want to be very clear in the separation of one-day matches and T20 here, because the feedback for Alex, even on this most recent tour, is that his one-day cricket was fantastic,” Bailey said in a statement.

“We were very impressed with the way he played in these most recent one-day matches, but also how he led the team in difficult circumstances. He is someone who has a lot of respect for us for the way he is going, and he sees that he still plays a lot of cricket matches for Australia and plays a very big role in the team, and the culture of the team going forward. ”

In Carey’s place, without limitation Josh Inglis was elected in the group of 15 members. Inglis’ dominant performance in England’s T20 Blast – 531 runs at an average of 48.27 and a strike rate of 175.82 – went in his favor.

Bailey told reporters that Inglis had been on the radar of selectors for some time.

“We talked to Josh about playing in The Blast and hopefully The Hundred and continuing his cause like that, and he really did,” he said. Said Bailey.

Meanwhile, it Joshua Philippe, Moses Henriques, Riley Meredith, Ashton Turner, Jason Behrendorff and Ben McDermott also could not make a cut in the last 15.

This year, Australia have won just four T20Is out of 15, but Bailey believes Aussies are capable of turning things around.

“We are confident that this team can take the side in an extremely competitive tournament,” said the cricketer’s selector.

“We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles, combined with the combined experience to succeed against the best T20 team in the world,” he added.

Australian team for T20 World Cup 2021:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade (wk) , David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Travel reserves: Daniel Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button