web statistic
Cricket News

CSA announces South Africa’s team for ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021

On Thursday, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced South Africa’s 15 squad for the upcoming ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021, which will be played from October 17 to November 14 in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Temba Bavuma will lead the Proteas in the seventh edition of the multilingual tournament. This will be his first major assignment since his permanent appointment as South African captain earlier this year.

CSA has selected three spinners for the mega event, including Keshav Maharaj, who has not yet made his T20I debut for South Africa. He has played 36 Tests and 14 ODIs so far. However, the left-hander appeared in 104 T20s, where he took 83 wickets at a pass rate of 26 and an economy of 6.62.

Björn Fortune and Tabraiz Shamsi are the other two spinners in the final 15. But, the experienced trio of Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir | and Chris Morris was not considered for selection.

‘I and the national selection panel are very excited to announce this team, which we believe is a global team. “It has been busy for the Proteas for the past few months, and we have had plenty of time to evaluate our options, and we are pleased with the result.” says CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang as quoted by Supersport.

“We are confident that we have a well-balanced and well-thought-out World Cup squad, with reserve players who are more than capable and can do the job if asked. The team thrived under the leadership of Temba Bavuma, and we look forward to seeing him return to the international stage once he is fully recovered from an injury.

“On behalf of the national selection panel, I wish Temba and coach Mark Boucher all the best as the team completes its preparations in Sri Lanka and Temba recovers from his injury.” Judges added.

South Africa, along with England, Australia, West India and two qualifiers, were placed in Group 1 in the Super 12 stage. The rainbow nation will start their campaign against Australia in Abu Dhabi on October 23.


Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, WIaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Travel reserves: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button