web statistic
Cricket News

Dasun Shanaka to lead Sri Lanka, announces a 25-member India Premier League group

Sri Lanka after much deliberation finally named their team to play India at home in the upcoming series over limited overs. There were many uncertainties regarding the group due to contractual issues, off-field controversies and their achievements on the field. Therefore, as previously rumored, the home team appointed a new captain by sacking Kusal Perera, who endured an unbeaten tour through England.

According to reliable sources, national selectors have announced Dasun Shanaka as the new captain, with Dhananjaya de Silva being his deputy. Dasun Shanaka is not only a cricketer but has also given some promising performances and done well in England. The everyday seam bowler also led Sri Lanka to a famous 3-0 victory over Pakistan in their backyard in the T20Is at the end of 2019.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Earlier, Shanaka also got the nod for the tour of the West Indies; however, he was able to reach the destination due to a delay in the visa. Furthermore, Dhananjaya de Silva acquired the vice-captaincy and fought 91 in the second ODI at the Oval against England. De Silva is also a useful off-spinner who is capable of breaking partnerships.

The group of 25 men, who need the approval of the Minister of Sport, see the return of Lahiru Kumara, Ashen Bandara, Kasun Rajitha and Bhanuka Rajapaksa. There was only one player not covered, in Lahiru Udara, the right batsman and a promising prospect. Udara averages 32.78 in the A-list cricket and 22.60 in the shortest format, with a proper hitting figure of 135.87.

Dasun Shanaka to lead Sri Lanka, announces a 25-member India Premier League group
Born in the air. (Credits: Web)

Sri Lanka’s 25-man squad to face India in the three-match series ODI and T20I in Colombo:

Garlic Shanaka (captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (vice-captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Ishan Jayaratne Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Udara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha en Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Also read: Sourav Ganguly says not sending a replacement for the injured Shubman Gill to England is a ‘call for selectors’

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button