web statistic
Cricket News

England recall Danielle Wyatt for 5-ODI series against New Zealand

Danielle Wyatt returns to the England ODI lineup for the upcoming 5-ODI series against New Zealand, after being looked at earlier in the summer against India in the one-day matches. The last of Danielle Wyatt’s 77 one-dayers came in February in New Zealand.

She scored 89 runs in the third T20I against India after being left out of the one-day match, and helped England win the T20I series.

Danielle Wyatt continued her good form in the T20I series against New Zealand -she was the third highest scorer in the T20 series with three matches, beating England 2-1 and scoring 84 runs on 28 while he struck at 140.00. She was also among the runs during The Hundred.

Danielle Wyatt (Image Credit: Twitter)

Kate Cross and Lauren Winfield-Hill are also returning to the national setup after missing the last two T20I series. Charlie Dean, the spinner of the Southern Vipers, is reportedly making her debut in the one-day series, which starts on September 16 in Bristol.

She was part of the group for the T20 series, but did not play as she and Maia Bouchier, teammate of Vipers, were excluded from the first T20I after being considered as possible Covid-19 contacts. Bouchier made an impressive debut in the second game, but was not considered for the one-day series.

This is an opportunity for both teams to finalize their players for the women’s one – day match scheduled for early next year. For that, England also play Australia in the ashes for women.

“We are very much looking forward to the Royal London Series,” said England head coach Lisa Keightley.

“This is an excellent test for us and five more important one-dayers ahead of next year’s ICC Women’s World Cup.”

English women's cricket team
English women’s cricket team. Image credits: AFP

English team for ODI series against New Zealand:

Heather Knight (Capt.), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.

1st ODI, September 16, Bristol
2nd ODI, September 19, Worcester
3rd ODI, September 21, Leicester
4th ODI Match, September 23, Derby
5th ODI, September 26, Canterbury

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button