web statistic
Cricket News

England vs India 2021, 3rd Test: Preview – Pitch Report, Probable XI and Head-to-Head Record

England and In the face each other in the third Test at Headingley in Leeds, from Wednesday (August 25).

The visitors are 1-0 ahead in the continuing series of five matches after a memorable victory in the second Test with a large margin of 151 runs. Virat Kohli’s side will enter Headingley with the utmost confidence and will try to record another triumph to gain an undisputed lead.

On the other hand, the hosts, who have been affected by several injuries, will focus on returning to the series.

Pitch report:

Headingley’s surface has always been bat-friendly, with a fair amount of help for pacers in the first phase of the game. So far, this field has hosted 78 matches in which 29 have been won by teams batting first, while 31 wins have been achieved while bowling first.

Head-to-head record (in England):

Matches Played: 64 | England win: 34 | India wins: 8 | Trek: 22 | Bound: 0

Play combination:


England declined as Dom Sibley and Zak Crawley for the third test. In such a case, Haseeb Hameed will open the turn next door Rory Burns while Dawid Malan will come in at number three.

Similarly, the hosts will also make forced changes such as Mark Wood, who upset the Indian batsmen with his extra pass in the previous match, was excluded from the third Test due to the shoulder injury. Pacer Saqib Mahmood will likely replace Wood in the upcoming game to finally make his Test debut.

ENG XI: Joe Root (c), Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, David Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Saqib Mahmood, James Anderson.

In the

It is highly unlikely that India will make any changes in the winning combination. However, their batting is still one of the biggest concerns. The tourists would hope that their skipper Kohli would overcome his bad condition and reach a triple figure. Kohli’s last test tone comes in November 2019 against Bangladesh at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

IND XI: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button