web statistic
Cricket News

ICC announces the details of the 2021 T20 World Cup; India and Pakistan in the same group

On Friday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the groups for the upcoming Men’s 2021 Men’s World Cup. The worldwide showpiece is presented by the India Cricket Management Board (BCCI) in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from October 17 to November 14.

The most exciting news for fans is that arch-enemies In the and Pakistan was placed in Group 2.. Other teams in this group are New Zealand and Afghanistan. There will also be two more teams competing in this category, namely the runner-up of Group A and winner of Group B from Round 1.

Similarly, Group 1 consists of England, Australia, South Africa, and West Indies. The other two teams placed in this group are the winner of Group A and the runner-up of Group B.

The groups were formed on 20 March 2021 according to the T20I rankings. Six teams – Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia, Oman, PNG and Scotland – clinched their place in the qualifiers through the ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers for men in 2019, while the top eight eighth teams achieved direct qualification for the tournament.

‘We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021. There are some great matches being hosted by the groups, and this is starting to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi- team meeting since the start approaching the global pandemic, ” said the acting CEO of ICC Geoff Allardice in a statement.

‘Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we have chosen the cut-off date as close as possible to the event to ensure that we can include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings determined by the groups. “There is no doubt that we will see a cricket with a very competitive competition if the event is underway within three months,” he added.

Here is a complete breakdown of groups:

  • Group 1 – England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner Group A, Runner-up Group B
  • Group 2 India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Group A Runner-up, Group B Winner
  • Group A – Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia
  • Group B – Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button