web statistic
Sports News

ICC will award the same points for every match won during the second WTC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) will award standardized 12 points for each match won during the Second World Cup, which starts with the series of five matches between India and England in August.

Teams will get six points if they are tied and four points if the match ends in a draw.

That there would be changes to the points system, Geoff Allardice, the interim chief executive of ICC, declared for the first time earlier this month.

BCCI recommends Mithali Raj, R Ashwin for Khel Ratna Award

“Instead of each series being worth the same number of points, 120, regardless of whether the series is played over two or five Tests, the next cycle will be worth the same number of points each game – a maximum of 12 per game,” he said. an ICC board member said PTI.

“Teams will be divided on the percentage of available points they have won from the matches they have played.” The changes in the points system must be ratified by the ICC’s executive management in the coming weeks.

“The aim was to try to simplify the points system and allow teams to be meaningfully compared on the table at any point, even though they have played different numbers of matches and series,” the councilor added.

Shamsi shines as South Africa beat West Indies by one run

Apart from the India-England series, the Ashes will be the only other five-match affair in the second cycle to end later this year, ending in June 2023.

Australia’s tour of India next year is the only series for four Tests in the coming cycle.

The nine Test teams will play a total of six series: three at home and three away just like the previous edition.

In the first edition that New Zealand won after defeating India in the final earlier this month, the ICC changed the qualification criteria for the World Test Championship from maximum points earned to percentage points earned from the matches after many scheduled series were canceled . and COVID-19.

India-England test to tackle World Cup II

During the last cycle, the value for each series was 120 points, where an India-Bangladesh series with two matches scored 60 points for a victory, while a test series between India and Australia had 30 points per victory .

“England will play the most Tests (21) in WTC-2, followed by India (19), Australia (18) and South Africa (15). The first WTC winners New Zealand will play only 13 matches, similar to those of the West Indies and Sri Lanka, but one less than Pakistan (14), ” ESPNCricinfo report.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your Adblocker to continue our site.