web statistic
Cricket News

India vs England 2021: Virat Kohli wins the Test and loses the Test by batting first

Former England Initial writer Geoffrey Boycott said it was the bat against the new ball that made the difference at Headingley between England’s knockout and In the‘s shocking loss. For the first time in the series, a few English openers, Rory Burns and Haseeb Hameed, managed to not only look out for the new ball, but also make a century opening.

David Malan and Joe Root then consolidate with the job of the opening batsman to put England in a pole position by the end of day 2. For India, KL Rahul failed in both innings, and despite the fifties of three Indian batsmen in the second innings, the The road proved too much as India conceded the loss by one innings.

Rory Burns and Haseeb Hameed. Credits: England Cricket Twitter

“England won the Headingley Test because they played the new ball better than India. Neglecting the new ball is so important in Test matches and has a huge impact on who wins the match. It gives the whole team a platform to move forward with confidence. England’s top three have scored 199 runs. It was invaluable, ā€¯Geoffrey Boycott wrote in his column for The Telegraph.

Virat Kohli won the toss and lost the Test by batting first: Geoffrey Boycott

Geoffrey Boycott further claimed that Virat Kohli’s decision to bat first under cloudy conditions after winning the toss was against him, while India were bowled out for 78; they then also collapsed in the second innings on day 4 when England took the new ball.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo: Twitter)

‘Look at India. Virat Kohli won the toss and lost the Test by first batting on a damp field with cloudy skies. The lunch was four down because his batsman failed against the new ball. “In the second innings they failed again, but by that time against the second new ball at the beginning of day 4. Eight wickets had taken only 63 runs in 19 overs,” he added.

With the series at 1-1, the next two Tests promise excitement. The fourth test will be held from September 2 at The Oval.

Also read: Former Sunil Gavaskar and Rohit Sharma coach Vasudeo Paranjape dies 82

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button