web statistic
Cricket News

Ireland announces groups for South Africa’s limited series

Cricket Ireland has announced the national team for the upcoming series for limited overs against South Africa that will be played at home. Ireland and South Africa will close horns in three ODIs and three T20Is from 11 July.

The three-match series is part of the ICC World League Super League and is played at Malahide. The T20I series will be between Malahide and Stormont. The three ODIs will be played on July 11, 13 and 16, while the T20I series will be played with the 1st.st match on July 19, then July 22 and the last match on July 24.

Ireland Cricket Team (Image Credit: Getty)

Curtis Campher returns to Ireland squad for South Africa Odis; William Porterfield retained

Ireland have recalled the versatile Curtis Campher for the ODI series against South Africa after recovering from his ankle surgery. Their first T20I calls also get William McClintock, Ben White and middle guard Neil Rock for the next T20 series.

Curtis Campher (Photo - Twitter)
Curtis Campher (Photo – Twitter)

Campher replaces Kevin O’Brien in the Irish ODI team after the veteran versatile player announced his retirement from the 50-over format, but he will compete in the T20I series. William Porterfield, the senior top-order batter, is also retained in the group despite managing only five runs in two overs in the Netherlands.

“The World Cup Super League series against South Africa is our first match at home, and although a difficult challenge awaits, we are confident that the group we have chosen, Graham Ford and Andrew Balbirnie, offer many options. “The continuous improvement of George Dockrell’s batting has given us solidness and experience in the middle order, while it has been great to see our bowling performance strong in recent IP50 matches and at the two recent T20 festivals. Andrew White, chairman of selectors, said.

William Porterfield (Photo AFP)
William Porterfield (Photo AFP)

‘With the recent retirement of Kevin O’Brien in the ODI series, the value of having the experience of William Porterfield in the set-up is just as important as ever, and his recent form at interprovincial level has shown that he still hungry to succeed, ” he added.

Here is the Ireland group for the upcoming series for limited overs against South Africa:

ODI group: Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Graham Kennedy, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, Barry McCarthy, William Porterfield, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young

T20I group: Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, William McClintock, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young

Matches: ODI Series: 1st ODI – 11 July, 2nd ODI – 13 July 3rd ODI – 16 July (all Malahide)

T20I Series: 1st T20I – July 19th (Malahide), 2nd T20I – July 22nd, 3rd T20I – July 24th (both Stormont)

Also read: This is quite a funny story – Kyle Jamieson rejects rumors about Virat Kohli asking him to bowl with duke ball in nets during IPL

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your Adblocker to continue our site.