web statistic
Basketball News

Jackson, Griffith, Ackerman, Moore inducted into the Naismith Hall of Fame

Lauren Jackson, Yolanda Griffith, Val Ackerman and Pearl Moore were inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass. On Saturday, along with NBA greats Paul Pierce, Chris Bosh, Chris Webber and Ben Wallace.

Jackson played her entire 12-year WNBA career at the Seattle Storm and is considered by some to be one of the two best players in league history, along with Diana Taurasi, who currently plays for the Phoenix Mercury. Jackson is sixth in points per game (18.9), is a triple MVP, seven-time All-Star and two-time champion (2004 and 2010).

Griffith played nine seasons with the Sacramento Monarchs, who won a 2005 WNBA Championship. Griffith also played for the Seattle Storm and Indiana Fever. She is the ninth time in rebounds per game (7.9), won the MVP award in 1999 and is a seven-time All-Star.

Ackerman wash the president of the WNBA from the beginning until 2005, was the president of American basketball from 2005 to 2008 and now serves as the commissioner of the Big East Conference of the NCAA Division I.

Moore played at Francis Marion College from 1975 to 1979 and achieved 4,061 career points, a women’s basketball record. She averaged 32 per game.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button