web statistic
Cricket News

Kane Williamson and Shaheen Afridi choose from the hundred

England’s latest ambition, The Hundred Tournament, apparently cannot stop the withdrawals of foreign players before its first edition. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and Pakistan fast bowling sensation Shaheen Afridi are the youngest overseas players to miss the tournament.

The brainchild of the English and Welsh Cricket Board (ECB), the 100-ball tournament would start in 2020, but the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic raised the tournament to 2021, but with the packed international calendar, many overseas players have opted. out of the tournament with only a few months left to start.

Shaheen Afridi (Image Credit: Twitter)

Kane Williamson chooses due to elbow problem; Shaheen Afridi selects Pakistan over one hundred

Kane Williamson recently led New Zealand to the historic ICC World Cup victory, beating India in the final at Southampton. However, he had to withdraw from his contract with the Phoenix Phoenix in Edgbaston due to his recurring elbow problem. Williamson is currently in the UK and will likely accompany Phoenix in the tournament. The Phoenix has named another Kiwi in Fin Allen – who currently represents Lancashire in the T20 Blast – as a replacement.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson (Image Credits: Twitter)

On the other hand, Shaheen Afridi decided to put national duty first as Pakistan toured the West Indies for a series for limited overs. Apart from Shaheen, the tournament is also likely to miss the services of Australian duo Aaron Finch and Adam Zampa, who were named in the group for the double tour of the West Indies and Bangladesh.

Players with big names choose from the hundred

Not only did Finch, Zampa, Shaheen and Williamson withdraw from the Hundred tournament, but other Australians in David Warner, Marcus Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell also opted for the tournament. Nathan Coulter and Kane Richardson also excluded because the mandatory 14-day quarantine must be secured before undertaking tours to the Caribbean and Bangladesh.

Kane Williamson and Shaheen Afridi choose from the hundred
Photo credit: (BCCI)

The Southern Brave named Quinton de Kock and Glenn Phillips as substitutes for Warner and Stoinis respectively, while London Spirit put Josh Inglis in line to fill in for Maxwell. Lungi Ngidi is expected to join Welsh Fire as a replacement for Jhye Richardson.

Also read: England’s batting unit will struggle against Indian bowlers: Alastair Cook

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button