web statistic
Cricket News

Matthew Wade leads Australia in the five-match T20I series against Bangladesh

Paaltjiewagter-batsman Matthew Wade will be the captain of Australia in the T20I series of five matches against Bangladesh starting on Tuesday (August 3) in Dhaka.

Regular skipper Aaron Finch left the bio-safe bubble during the Australian tour of the West Indies, which flew home from Barbados last month and underwent minor surgery on his injured right knee in an attempt to qualify for the upcoming T20 World Cup later in the year. the UAE.

Alex Carey took over the reins from Finch in the one-day series against West Indies, which the Aussies won 2-1.

Meanwhile, Wade has previous experience leading a team, but it was all at the local level for Victoria, Tasmania and the Hobart Hurricanes.

“Of course I keep wickets, so the distance between the bowler and myself is much greater and that means the person is much more responsible,” Wade was told by cricket.com.au.

“If you get into someone and take over from someone, it’s just giving the guys the ability to be truly ownership of their game, and at the top of the point, they have to execute it.” he added.

Cricket Australia have also confirmed that their squad for T20Is in Bangladesh will remain unchanged in terms of Caribbean tours, with players such as David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell and Pat Cummins miss again.

David Warner (Image source: Twitter)

Australian team:

Matthew Wade (c & wk), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Reserves: Nathan Ellils, Tanveer Sangha.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button