web statistic
Soccer News

‘Messi, Ronaldo leads -‘ Top ten players with the most Ballon d’Or awards

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are the only two players to have won the award more than three times.

Ballon d’Or is an annual award given by a French weekly called France Football to the best male footballer of the year.

The Ballon d’Or, launched in 1956, is the oldest award in football and is also one of the most prestigious awards in the world, along with the best FIFA men’s award.

England’s Stanley Mathews was the first recipient of this award in 1956. The award has been held every year since 1956, except last year when the organizers decided to cancel the award for the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, which marked the domestic seasons of several nations.

From 2010 to 2015, France Football entered into an agreement with FIFA to temporarily merge the Ballon D’or with the FIFA World Player of the Year award, which began in 1991.. In these six years, the new award is called FIFA Ballon D ‘or.

Argentine star Lionel Messi is the current holder of the award and has won it most times (6) followed by Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo who has one less than Messi.

Messi Ronaldo Ball

In terms of finishing the podium, both Ronaldo and Messi are tied (12). Since 2007, there have only been two occasions when one of the players did not finish among the top three players. While Ronaldo finished off the podium in 2010, Messi did the same in 2018.

Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten have won the prize three times in history.

Who are the top 10 players with the most Ballon d’Or wins?

Position Player Country Ballon d’Ors Years
1 Lionel Messi Argentina 6 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019
2 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal 5 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017
3 Michel platini France 3 1983, 1984, 1985
4 Johan Cruyff The Netherlands 3 1971, 1973, 1974
5 Marco van Basten The Netherlands 3 1988, 1989, 1992
6 Franz Beckenbauer Germany 2 1972, 1976
7 Ronaldo Brazil 2 1997, 2002
8 Alfredo Di Stefano Alfredo Di Stefano 2 1957, 1959
9 Kevin Keegan England 2 1978, 1979
10 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany 2 1980, 1981

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button