web statistic
Cricket News

Mohammad Shahzad returns as Afghanistan announces their squad for the tournament

Afghanistan The Cricket Board (ACB) on Thursday named a team of 18 members for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021 which will be played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The 22-year-old Rashid Khan will lead the team in the top match starting next month, and wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad, who was taken out of the team in the middle of the 2019 World Cup, has returned to the Afghanistan team .

ACB announces 18-member team for ICC T20 2021 World Cup

ACB announced the team on its official Twitter handle. Senior players Asghar Afghan and versatile Mohammad Nabi will make their presence felt in the team and will also play a crucial role in taking the team to its heights.

Afghanistan’s national cricket team. Image Credits: Twitter

Gulbadin Naib, who led the team in the 2019 World Cup, will once again be their most important versatile player alongside Mujeeb Ur Rahman and spinner Qais Ahmad will complement captain Rashid Khan on the UAE runways.

Apart from the 18 members, wicketkeeper Afsar Zazai and unrestricted player Farid Ahmad Malik were named as the team’s reserve players.

The future of women’s cricket in Afghanistan is a major source of concern over Taliban rule

There has been a lot of tension in the country since the militant organization Taliban took over the power and control of the Ashraf Ghani government. The future of cricket in the country looks bleak with reports that it appears women will not be allowed to take part in cricket, which also threatens their only Test match against Australia in November.

Cricket Australia said in a statement that they should cancel the Test match if women are barred from participating in the country.

Afghanistan span
Afghanistan Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Afghanistan will play their first match in the qualifying round of Group B winner Sharjah on October 25.

Afghanistan Team for ICC T20 2021 World Cup: Rashid Khan (captain), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WC), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Shahzad (WC), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Gulbada Naib, Hamid Hassan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Qais Ahmad.

Reserved players: Afsar Zazai and Farid Ahmad Malik.

Also read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Cricket Ireland announces a team of 18 members, including unlimited player Graham Kennedy

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button