web statistic
Cricket News

PCB announces Pakistan’s team for ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has appointed an experienced, well-balanced and formidable team of 15 members for the upcoming ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021.

Pakistan the arch-enemies will take up the fight In the in their opening match at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on 24 October.

The productive Babar Azam will continue to lead the Men In Green, but there are some surprising inclusions and exclusions in the team. While Asif Ali and Khushdil Shah experienced fighters recalled for the exhibition Shoaib Malik and Wahab Riaz – was left out of the team.

Asif played his last T20I for Pakistan against Zimbabwe earlier in April, averaging 16.38 with a strike rate of 123.74. On the other hand, Shah last represented his national team in a T20I against South Africa at Lahore earlier this year. The left-handed batsman averages 21.66 in 9 games and a pass rate of 109.24.

Chief Appraiser Mohammed Wasim, said in his statement: ‘While selecting the group, we tried to cover all our bases by providing for the modern T20 cricket that will be impressive during the ICC T20 Men’s World Cup. This includes the confidence in the skills, abilities and experience of the players to perform in a high pressure global tournament under conditions we are familiar with, as well as to look at the teams we will play in Group 2 matches.

‘Asif Ali and Khushdil Shah may not have an impressive number against their names, but almost no one can doubt their tremendous talent and skill. They are the best in the pool of middle bats available, and we are confident that they will provide us with solid performance solutions to our middle order problems.

“These two experienced middle-order batsmen compliment Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan and Shoaib Maqsood, while in Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan we have three top-quality spiders who are equally good with the bat and excellent in the field,” he added.

Of the 19 players who were part of the T20I series in England, Arshad Iqbal, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Sharjeel Khan and Usman Qadir failed to make a cut in the T20 World Cup team.

Zaman, Qadir and Shahnawaz Dahani will be the three travel reserves for the T20 extravaganza.

Pakistan’s T20 World Cup Team 2021:

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hafeez, Azam Khan, Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Sohaib Maqsood, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz.

Reserves – Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button