web statistic
Cricket News

Ravi Rampaul returns after 6 years as West India announces their team for the tournament

Cricket West Indies (CWI) Roger Harper, chief voter, announced the group of defending champions for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in 2021 to be held in the UAE and Oman. The tournament starts on October 17 and the final will be played on November 14. The matches are held in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Oman.

West Indies are the only team to have won the T20 World Cup twice – 2012 and 2016 – both under the captaincy of Daren Sammy. This time, the Men in Maroon captain is led by Kieron Pollard and will feature experienced players such as Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons and Andre Fletcher.

West Indies (Image Credit: Twitter)

Roger Harper, CWI’s chief selector, said: ‘The team is one with good depth and strength in all divisions. There is a tremendous T20 experience, coupled with the experience of the World Cup that should leave the team well. This team consists of many players beating worldwide, which, once knitted into a world beating team, will be extremely difficult to beat. I expect the team to do very well and with the ‘rub of the green’ I think the team has a good chance of defending the title. ”

However, the team sees that former West Indies captain Jason Holder, along with Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo and Akeal Hosein have been included in the reserve players.

Ravi Rampaul recalled to T20Is for first time after 2015; Roston Chase gets Maiden T20I call

While the team produced surprises, the most amazing one for the first time since 2015 was the rebuilding of fast bowler Ravi Rampaul. Rampaul was part of the T20 team that won in 2012. Roston Chase, who also made his first T20I call for the West Indies, was also included in the main team.

Ravi Rampaul
Ravi Rampaul (Image Credit: Twitter)

Roger Harper, CWI selector, said: “Ravi Rampaul is a highly experienced bowler who has performed well in the last CG Insurance Super50 Cup and the current Hero CPL so far. He will strengthen the team’s wicket-taking options in the power play and the mid-stage, and he will provide another option for the fatalities.

Roston Chase has shown that he is a very capable T20 player. He did well in the CPL in 2020 and has been excellent in the 2021 edition so far. He showed the ability to extend the innings together, while still scoring fast with a low point ball percentage. He will be an excellent foil for the explosive players in the team. ”

West Indies were drawn in Group 1 and play five group matches against England, South Africa and Australia, along with the winner of Round 1 Group A and the runner-up of Round 1 Group B. The defending champions open their account against England in Dubai 23 October.

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Credits: Twitter)

West Indian Group for ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021:

Kieron Pollard (C), Nicholas Pooran (VC), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Travel reserves: Jason Holder, Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo and Akeal Hosein.

Also read: ‘Dreams come true’: Suryakumar Yadav reacts to his choice in the 2020 T20 World Cup in India

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button