web statistic
Cricket News

Scotland announces team for ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021

On Thursday, Cricket Scotland announced their team for the upcoming ICC T20 Men’s World Cup, held in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in October-November. Kyle Coetzer will lead the team, with the former English victim Jonathan Trott joined as batting consultant.

Josh Davey, Michael Leask, George Munsey and Mark Watt, who represented the Scottish team in the last T20 World Cup in 2016, have been included in the squad.

On the other hand, Dylan Budge, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace and Brad Wheal will be attending their first major ICC event.

Matthew Cross holds the wicket, while Richard Berrington will be the vice-captain of the team.

‘These are exciting times for Scottish cricket, and we are all excited to go to the T20 World Cup and do well on the international stage. The group of players and coaches work very hard and fully deserve their place in the 17-man squad. “Because we have only played two international matches since 2019, we offer an excellent opportunity over the next two months.” said Gus Mackay, CEO of Cricket Scotland, in a statement.

‘Our eight-man management team has been carefully selected to reflect the needs of the team and to ensure that they are best prepared for the tournament. The addition of the experienced Jonathan Trott, who will work with the team until the start of the World Cup, shows our intentions, ” he added.

Scotland will start their tournament Bangladesh in Round 1 of the multi-team tournament on October 17 in Oman. They will then face Papua New Guinea on October 19, followed by Oman on October 21. The top two teams advance to the Super12 phase of the competition.

Here is the team from Scotland for the T20 World Cup 2021:

Kyle Coetzer (c), Richard Berrington (vc), Dylan Budge, Matthew Cross (wk), Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Michael Leask, Calum Macleod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir , Craig Wallace (wk), Mark Watt, Brad Wheal.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button