web statistic
Cricket News

Shaun Tait unveils his former ODI XI; select four Indian players

Former Australian speedster Shaun Tait was very popular for his exciting pace and his incredible ability to bowl consistently above 150 km / h. His career suffered regular injuries, so he could not strengthen his place in the Aussie team.

Tait, who was a member of the 2007 World Cup, represented Australia in 3 Tests, 35 ODIs and 21 T20Is, scoring 5, 62 and 28 wickets respectively. Tait played with and against one of the best players, especially in the 50-over format. And recently the South Australian cricketer unveiled his everyday ODI XI in a conversation with Sportskeeda.

Starting with the openers, Tait selected as Adam Gilchrist and Virender Sehwag. The 38-year-old said he picked the explosive bats because of their aggression in the highest order.

‘I’m going with Adam Gilchrist and (Virender) Sehwag. I like aggression at the top of the list, ” said Tait.

Tait chose with a strong middle order to choose legendary batsmen Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara. While Tendulkar (18,426) and Ponting (13,704) are the highest runs for their respective nations. Lara (10,405) is the second highest scorer for the West Indies.

For number six, Tait named Indian superstar Virat Kohli; However, he was a bit unsure about choosing Kohli for this position as the Delhi guy is a top batsman. For number seven, the born Adelaide went with the former skipper of India MS Dhoni. Both Kohli (12,169) and Dhoni (10,773) belong to the elite list of batsmen who have scored more than 10,000 runs in one-day cricket.

‘When I bat at number 3, I have to go with Ricky Ponting. Number 4 would be Sachin Tendulkar, and number 5 is Brian Lara. Can Virat Kohli bat at number 6? Is it good? I will push MS Dhoni to number 7, ” added Tait.

In the bowling division, the former coach of Afghanistan has three pacers and a spinner in the form of Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shoaib Akhtar and Shane Warne. Akram (502) is the second highest wicketkeeper of all time in ODIS, while McGrath (381) is the leading wicketkeeper for Australians. On the other hand, Warne took 393 headers while Akhtar took 247 wickets in one-day cricket.

Here is Shaun Tait’s ODI XI of all time:

Virender Sehwag, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brain Lara, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shoaib Akhtar.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button