web statistic
Cricket News

T20 World Cup 2021 will take place in the UAE; confirms BCCI boss Sourav Ganguly

The president of the India Cricket Management Board (BCCI), Sourav Ganguly, confirmed that the upcoming T20 World Cup which would take place in India has been moved to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) due to health safety concerns by COVID-19.

‘We have officially implied the ICC that the T20 World Cup could be moved to the United Arab Emirates. The details will be revealed, “ Ganguly told PTI.

“The decision was taken with a view to the health safety of all stakeholders,” he added.

At the beginning of the month, the International Cricket Council (ICC) gave the Indian Cricket Board a four-week window to decide and inform whether India could host the event for the exhibition on the new coronavirus situation in the country.

Regardless of the venue, the ICC has already made it clear that the top Indian council will remain the host of the tournament.

Furthermore, there are speculations about the tournament taking place from October 17 to November 14 instead of the originally planned dates from October 18 to November 15. In response, Ganguly suggests that there will be an announcement on the schedule soon as there is no start. date is still finalized.

‘We will be able to complete the travel details within a few days. The start of October 17 has not yet been completed, “ added the 48-year-old further.

After its meeting in the first week of June, the ICC said it was looking for other venues besides the three venues in the United Arab Emirates – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sharjah Cricket Stadium and Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium. For this, ICC and BCCI kept the Oman option open.

It is said that Oman will be able to host the first round matches in which Sri Lanka, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Oman, Bangladesh, Namibia, the Netherlands and Scotland will compete. Among all these qualifications, four teams qualify for the Super 12 innings, for which India, Australia, England, South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, West Indies and Afghanistan have already qualified.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your Adblocker to continue our site.