web statistic
Cricket News

Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2021 Full schedule announced; League starts on July 19

The fifth edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) kicks off on July 19 at MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk) in Chennai after all permission has been received from the state government. The final is scheduled for August 15.

All 28 league matches, plus the 4 playoffs, are played in Chennai. Unlike the test series between India and England where a partial crowd was allowed to attend, there will be no spectator in the TNPL 2021 due to the rising situation in the state. All eight teams will have to comply with the strict regulations.

Tamil Nadu Premier League. Beeld-Twitter

Chepauk Super Gillies, led by Kaushik Gandhi, is the defending champion who won the title in 2019 – the tournament was not staged last year due to the pandemic. The Super Gillies are the only team to have won the competition twice; The Tuti Patriots and Siechem Madurai Panthers each won a title.

There will be three rest days: one after the end of the group stage, and one day on either side of qualifying match 2. The afternoon matches start at 15:30 IST and the evening matches at 19:30 IST; there will be a total of seven double headers.

Some of Tamil Nadu’s prominent names in Ravichandran AshwinWashington Sundar, R Sai Kishore, Varun Chakravarthy and Sandeep Warrier will not be available for the tournament because they are busy with national commitments.

Veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik will also not be available as he is in the UK for comment.

TNPL 2021 Team Lists & Groups, Chepauk Super Gillies
Chepauk Super Gillies. Image Credits: Twitter

The eight teams in TNPL 2021 are: Chepauk Super Gillies, Dindigul Dragons, LYCA Kovai Kings, Salem Spartans, iDream Tiruppur Tamizhans, Ruby Trichy Warriors, Nellai Royal Kings and Siechem Madurai Panthers.

The matches will be broadcast by Star India on its various channels, including Star Sports Tamil.

Result schedule:

10-8-2021 (19:30) – Qualifier 1

11-8-2021 (19:30) – Eliminator

13-8-2021 (19:30) – Qualifier 2

15-8-2021 (19:30) – Final

Also read: Impossible to remove Ravi Shastri if India wins T20 World Cup – Reetinder Sodhi

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your Adblocker to continue our site.