web statistic
Cricket News

The ECB announces English team for ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced their 15-member team for the upcoming ICC T20 Men’s World Cup, which will be played from October 17 to November 14 in Oman and the UAE.

According to ICC rules, the cricket boards of participating teams may change their team until 10 October.

England included a left-build fast bowler Tymal Mills in their preliminary group of 15 men, but the versatile Ben Stokes still remains unavailable.

While addressing the media, the head coach was Chris Silverwood said Mills’ performances in the T20 Blast and The Hundred this season have strengthened his position in the team.

“Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has proven over the past few years, but especially this summer, that he has all the skills to succeed at this level.

‘His exceptional pace is striking, and the way he has played the respective attacks of Sussex and Southern Brave in short form has shown that he enjoys the pressure of the big stage. “He will give our bowling unit more diversity, and we can not wait to see him play in a big international tournament.” Silverwood added.

The absence of Stokes is expected. He is currently on an indefinite breakaway from cricket due to health issues and has only played three ODIs against him. Pakistan this summer.

The omission of test skipper Joe Root is also not a surprise. He has not been part of England’s T20I team for a while, and last played a 20-over match in the summer of 2019.

After winning the 2019 World Cup, the T20I team at number 1 will aim to add another piece of silverware.

“We are excited about the prospect of challenging to win the ICC T20 World Cup,” said Silverwood.

‘I believe we have chosen a team that covers all bases and has the depth to be successful in a very competitive tournament with the best players in the world.

Team: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button