web statistic
Sports News

Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane rested; Rohit Sharma leads India in 100th Premier League match

Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane and Ravichandran Ashwin have selected the three-day first-class warm-up match against County Select XI in Durham which started on Tuesday.

‘Kohli felt stiffness in his back late Monday night and he was advised by the BCCI medical team to rest from the three-day first-class warm-up match.

“Rahane has mild swelling around his left thigh muscle. This was addressed by an injection. The BCCI medical team is watching him and he is expected to recover in time for the first Test against England from August 4 in Nottingham,” The BCCI- Secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

Rohit Sharma, who is playing his 100th first-class match, is the frontrunner.

The ECB has made a request to the Indian team management to allow two players from the Indian contingent to play for County Select XI after some of their players were deemed unavailable due to injury or close contacts of a positive person from Covid-19. As a result, Washington Sundar and Avesh Khan were made available to play for their team.

But Avesh suffered a thumb injury during the fielding. It remains to be seen whether this is a disruption or a minor injury.


Mayank Agarwal in the spotlight in India’s warm-up match against County Select XI

Rohit (9) and Mayank Agarwal (28) added 33 runs for the first wicket before Lyndon James quickly sent back both starters in a row.

Hanuma Vihari, who will be in action for India after the tour in Australia, and the square tempo attack with Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Shardul Thakur.

Mohammed Shami is also relieved for the match.

The Indian cricketers wore black bracelets to mourn the death of former batsman and World Cup winner Yashpal Sharma, who passed away on July 13 due to a cardiac arrest. Team India head coach Ravi Shastri was his teammate at the 1983 World Cup.

India will play a match within the same group from 26 July to 28 July.

In the: Rohit Sharma (C), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, KL Rahul (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button