web statistic
Cricket News

Will India opt for a split captaincy between Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma? BCCI Secretary Jay Shah revealed

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah has once and for all stopped the rumors about Indian cricket for a split captaincy. Since Sunday night, news reports have been saying that Virat Kohli, the current skipper in all formats, will resign from his post in cricket with limited overs “to concentrate on the batting” after the T20 World Cup. Rohit Sharma, the white ball vice-captain.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah suspends reports of split captaincy in Indian team after T20 2021 World Cup:

Jay Shah was clear as a crystal by saying that the BCCI did not think about it and that no proposal was made by the management of selectors. He gave his full support to Virat Kohli, who will take the lead for the first time in a T20 World Cup tournament.

“There is no such proposal, and the team is led by Virat, and we support him,” Shah told Cricbuzz on Monday.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

It’s all rubbish, Virat Kohli remains the captain of all formats: BCCI treasurer

Earlier in the day, Arun Dhumal, the treasurer of the BCCI, leaked such reports that appeared on the internet, confirming that Virat Kohli would continue to be the captain of the side over the formats.

“It’s all rubbish. Nothing (like) happens. That’s all you (media) are talking about. BCCI did not meet or discuss anything about this (split captaincy). Virat remains the captain (of all formats), ”Dhumal told IANS.

Virat Kohli has dropped a batting form — awaiting his 71st international century — and Rohit Sharma is a proven captain of the whiteball-5 IPL trophies speak volumes — it was certain that such allegations would emerge. For now, however, it has been put to bed, at least until the T20 World Cup.

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma, captain of the MI, and Virat Kohli, captain of the RCB (Image credit: Twitter)

Following the cancellation of the Manchester Test, the Indian players who would take part in the rest of the IPL 2021 have reached the UAE where they are quarantined for 6 days. The IPL extravaganza begins on September 19th.

Only a few days after the IPL 2021 ended on November 15, the T20 World Cup begins. India are alongside Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and two other teams qualifying in the Super 12 phase of the first round.

15 of India: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthum, Jasprit Bash .

Reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur

Also read: RCB fights Elon Musk through a tweet, claim account hacked

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button