web statistic
Basketball News

WNBA: Lynx’s Sylvia Fowles is WNBA’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2021

Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles is the defensive player of the year in 2021, the WNBA announced Sunday. Fowles has now won the award four times, with the first time a decade ago.

Fowles was second in the league in steals per game with 1.8, an incredible achievement for anyone in her position. She was also second in the league with 1.8 blocks per game and third with eight defensive rules per game.

Along with Fowles in the All-Defensive First Team are Connecticut Sun forward / center Jonquel Jones, Phoenix Mercury forward Brianna Turner, Los Angeles Sparks guard Brittney Sykes and Connecticut Sun guard Briann January. Sykes led the league in stalemate and made some of the most flashy defensive games of the season. January was known for closing two guards, including some of the best scorers in the league, well below their average.

The members of the All-Defensive Second Team are Seattle Storm forward Breanna Stewart, Connecticut Sun forward Brionna Jones, Phoenix Mercury center Brittney Griner, Connecticut Sun Guard, Jasmine Thomas and Washington Mystics guard Ariel Atkins.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button