web statistic
Cricket News

Women from Barbados to represent West India at the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games

The Barbados women were selected to represent Western India at next year’s Birmingham Commonwealth Games. Women’s cricket is being played at the multi – national event for the first time ever.

The decision to select Barbados boils down to Cricket West Indies (CWI) postponing the 2050 Women’s Super50 Cup as well as the T20 Blaze in 2021. As the winner of the previous Blaze edition, Barbados got the nod.

Johnny Grave, CEO of CWI, made a statement in which he wished the team before the ‘historic’ event. The sport will look widespread, and its popularity will increase among the countries that do not play.


This is a historic occasion, because for the first time, Women’s Twenty20 cricket will take place at this prestigious global sporting event, which is a great complement to our sport and a great exposure and opportunity for the players.

We wish them all the best as they compete for the gold medal, and we know they will continue to be proud of West India,he said.

“The decision to postpone T20 Blaze was forced by covid-19 pandemic” Cricket West Indies CEO

The T20 Blaze would have decided which national team would officially represent West India during the Commonwealth Games in 2022. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic, they could not continue with the tournament.

West Indian women
West Indian women. Image Credits: Twitter

It was a challenging period with the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic ahead of us, and we were forced to make the decision to postpone the Women’s T20 Blaze and Women’s CG Insurance Super50 Cup for this year. However, we were able to invest in several high-performance camps and international competitions for the ladies group, led by Courtney Walsh and his coaching staff.

It has been very beneficial so far and we have identified a core group of players who are the best available in the region for the qualifiers for the Women’s World Cup, which will benefit from the extra resources that CWI spends on the West Indian women’s team. prepare,Said Grave.

With this decision, Barbados will join England, India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa as the other teams that have qualified for next year’s tournament. The last team (eighth) is decided by a qualifying tournament.

Also read – Joe Root passes Andrew Strauss to become England’s joint third-highest Test head of England

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button