web statistic
Cricket News

Zaheer Khan nominates his 15-man India squad for the T20 World Cup; Omit Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer

Former In the pacemaker Zaheer Khan excludes senior batsman Shikhar Dhawan of his 15-man India for the T20 World Cup. While the T20 World Cup is still more than a few months away, the Indian team will no longer play T20 matches as the Test series in England is followed by the IPL which will conclude days before the World Cup.

The recent series against Sri Lanka, which India lost, was thus their last bilateral series before the mega-event in October.

Zaheer Khan has chosen that the pair Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul would start with captain Virat Kohli at three, although Kohli had earlier said he wanted to open.

‘I will open with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. Virat and Surya will follow them. I know Virat made the statement that he wants to open the innings. But I would still say that Virat only opens when Hardik is not available to bowl. In that scenario, you can sacrifice one batsman and get an extra bowler, ”the former India pacemaker told Cricbuzz.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Zaheer Khan recently had debutants Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, both of whom have given brilliant performances in international cricket over Shreyas Iyer who will return from a shoulder injury in the IPL 2021. Kishan and Rahul will also provide the backup options for Rishabh Pant.

In the spin bowling division, the 2011 World Cup winner selected Rahul Chahar and one from Washington Sundar or Varun Chakravarthy to support senior leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. He also pointed out that he would like to see T Natarajan on the sidelines if Bhuvneshwar Kumar is not completely fit. Mohammed Shami has Zaheer Khan’s group strengthen the pass division with his experience.

‘I have Chahal as the main building turner and am also with Rahul Chahar as his backup. In this format we have seen that the leg turner is such an important factor. Chakravarthy / Sundar will be the spinners who would bowl with the new ball. If you want that mystery element, you can choose Chakravarthy, but otherwise you can also go in with Sundar, ‘said the left-handed seam bowler.

India are placed in Group 2 along with Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and two qualifying teams for the Super 12 innings.

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan. Beeld-Sportstar

Zaheer Khan’s 15 India squad for T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Chahar, Natahara Tahara , Washington Sundar / Varun Chakravarthy

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button